I’ve known no war and consider myself lucky

I’ve known some people who went to war and would never claim to understand anything about their experience. Some appear to be OK with it, others carry visible scars and one didn’t come back alive. Maybe because of when I grew up, in my youth there was a certain glamour about war that was slowly erased through age or maturity. Today I cringe whenever I hear people spouting patriotic slogans about the “glory” of war. The outcome is glory(maybe) for the winning side but a lot of people have to witness horrors that most of us would rather avoid. (though reality tells me not all wars are avoidable)

So what brought this subject up? There is a web site accessible by anyone, maintained by the U.S. Army Medical Department, which contains in depth research and analysis of exactly how soldiers are killed. Some of the studies were conducted during World War Two and include dozens of photographs of U.S. troops with clinical textbook descriptions of the damage their bodies received. Looking at those photos and thinking about what was done to someone who was a son/brother/father/friend might give anyone who automatically voices support for any skirmish or conflict that flares up reason to pause and think first before opening their mouth.

(FYI, I don’t consider myself “morbid” and actually think I’m somewhat squeamish, nor am I a fan of “horror” entertainment. The most “horrific” movie I’ve experienced was “Saving Private Ryan” to the point where I couldn’t sleep the night after watching it and have not had the desire to watch any war movie since)

About Marcus

Who me? Introverted, neurotic, self-absorbed, increasingly cynical observer of human nature and part time social critic in hiding. Most of my life spent avoiding growing up. The naive idealistic passions of youth have evolved into the eclectic eccentricities of adulthood. Northeast Florida small-town native, related to people I can't relate to. Simultaneously my own best friend and worst enemy. Politically and spiritually unaffiliated, my personal ideologies put me all over the map or off it completely.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to I’ve known no war and consider myself lucky

  1. binky011 says:

    Ah, but the brave armchair warriors of the 101st Keyboard Brigade don’t flinch from the pain and suffering of our soliders, because in their minds the soliders should be proud of having had the opportunity to show the flag on some distant shore — even when it means they came home with it draped over their coffins.

Leave a Reply

