imitation doesn’t always flatter

We are becoming a society which prefers, or at least settles for, un-original thoughts. Look at all the movie remakes filling theaters these days. Do we really need to see Billy Bob Thorton re-play Walter Matthau’s role? Who do you think will play the part of Karl when they remake ‘Sling Blade’. Oh yeah, you know it’s gonna happen one day at this rate.

Another example of this came to mind after I first visited Epcot and saw the World Showcase. I realized that for many people this was their way of saying (and sadly probably believing) they had “visited” a foreign country. And yes, I realize for many it was all they could afford but wouldn’t they have been better off to see for instance the Grand Canyon, the Everglades, Williamsburg, VA or any number of other “real” places of interest rather than some cartoonist’s idea turned into a sanitized merchandising juggernaut?

About Marcus

Who me? Introverted, neurotic, self-absorbed, increasingly cynical observer of human nature and part time social critic in hiding. Most of my life spent avoiding growing up. The naive idealistic passions of youth have evolved into the eclectic eccentricities of adulthood. Northeast Florida small-town native, related to people I can't relate to. Simultaneously my own best friend and worst enemy. Politically and spiritually unaffiliated, my personal ideologies put me all over the map or off it completely.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to imitation doesn’t always flatter

  1. cat_wrangler says:

    because, dear heart, the plan is to dumb down the populus
    People are sheep. Individuals are cool, but as a whole, get the me the hell away from the masses. I will not watch the remakes. Hell, I have a hard time watching a movie based on a literary work (not ‘book’, that falls into Danielle Steel’s category and I shall not rant there). The Long Hot Summer worked pretty well. The Wedding Guest worked well. Slaughterhouse Five worked.
    The Thorn Birds was utter drivel, and remakes are an affront to anyone who still has a portion of the brain functioning.

  2. binky011 says:

    I am often amazed to find out how many films are remakes of older ones. This is not a new thing, as you doubtless know. And remakes aren’t always a bad thing — I like “His Girl Friday” and I like “The Front Page”. And on ‘s comment about movies based on literary works, I think way too many of those movies should be labeled “inspired by” rather than “based on”. Too often about the only thing they have in common with the original work is the title and some of the character names.

    • marcsuttle says:

      Maybe because of the era I was raised in and having and over stimulated mind lacking the ability to concentrate, I’m thankful for some movies based on “literary works”. Reading ‘War and Peace’ was hell but watching the Masterpiece Theater PBS/UK version broadcast over many weeks back in the mid seventies (starring Anthony Hopkins) I found it absolutely fascinating. I keep telling myself that one day I’m going to pick up and read ‘Moby Dick’ but until then I can say I appreciated the movie version starring Gregory Peck. (and there are many more examples)

      • binky011 says:

        Oh, I agree, there are “good” film versions of books. Heck, there are even good films that don’t really match with the books they’re based on — if I recall the movie correctly, the film “Shane” only bares a passing resemblance to the book, yet I’ve enjoyed both of them.
        I admit, what really sparked my comment is my festering resentment of that piece of garbage that dared to call itself “Starship Troopers”. 🙂

      • cat_wrangler says:

        Masterpiece Theater
        ..is probably why I ended up majoring in English. Mourning Becomes Elektra was just a beautiful performance….of course, I was in my 20s before I got to enjoy MT because we lived in bum-frick Egypt and could only pick up ABC and NBC (may have something to do with my fear of peacocks)

    • cat_wrangler says:

      The Earthsea Trilogy
      I heard from various sources that Le Guin was ‘quite displeased’ with the production but the producers kept the spin going that she was a part of the production throughout. I didn’t bother watching it; I just dug out my old copy and read it again.
      Of course, “A Boy and His Dog” that Ellison wrote turned out rather well, and should have warned producers everywhere that Don Johnson couldn’t act his way out of a bathroom..but that’s just my skewed opinion.
      But hey, it’s been a bad week: we’ve been vastly overcharged for the damage done by the plumber and my phone tech husband managed to fix the leak (thank God for Engineer Brains) so we’ll probably go see Batman. I’ll take some klonopin before I go so none of it will matter….

      • marcsuttle says:

        Harlan Ellison (one of my favorites)
        I remember having to sneak read a copy of ‘A Boy and His Dog’ from the library because it was banned unless you were of a certain age group. (I think I was 11 at the time)Have watched the movie many times. The dog steals the movie. Better than ‘Miami Vice’ in my opinion.

      • binky011 says:

        Re: The Earthsea Trilogy
        Of course, “A Boy and His Dog” that Ellison wrote turned out rather well…
        I’m guessing you already know of Ellison’s reaction to the re-write of his ending? 🙂

      • cat_wrangler says:

        Re: The Earthsea Trilogy
        I had a film/lit instructor (back when dinosaurs roamed the earth but no one looked like Raquel Welch) who loving referred to Ellison as one of the shortest curmudgeon’s of our time. Didn’t he and LQ Jones have a bit of a ‘disagreement’ over dialogue additions? Far as I’m concerned, Harlan is one of the few geniuses of our time who hasn’t completely ‘burned out or faded away’.
        And wasn’t there some weird connection on that movie, someone on the production crew who had been on, what, Petticoat Junction or something equally strange? I’ll have to ferret this out for my own amusement! ‘A Boy and His Dog’ meets Petticoat Junction. THAT IS TRULY FRIGHTENING.

Leave a Reply

