Contrary to what techno-crats are telling us, we are a long way from a paperless society. Accumulated five checks recently which required a visit to the bank this morning. Returning home I noted another chore requiring my attention, removal of all the road-kill from the street in front of our house. The squirrel didn’t concern me as I tossed its stiff carcass into the woods (I’ve tried unsuccessfully to eliminate them, killing hundreds but they breed like rabbits) but the dead young adult Black Rat snake caused me to pause and mourn its demise. I especially like non-venomous snakes. They help keep the vermin population down. (yes I know they prey on other forms of life but I’m under no illusion about the unthinking cruelty of nature) Since obtaining a real digital camera several weeks ago I’ve specifically looked for snakes on the property to photograph and post here. I did pick up and admire a nice Common King Snake last week while out walking some dogs but didn’t have the camera. The only dead snakes I might display are the poisonous Copperheads I kill occasionally.

While out on the bank errand I stopped by one of the Record/CD stores I frequent and walked out with two CDs and an old(but in really great shape) vinyl album-
Mushroom Jazz – DJ Mark Farina (groove baby)
Brian Eno – Ambient 1 Music for Airports (put you right to sleep, is it really music?)
Country Joe and the Fish – Here We Are Again (don’t bogart that joint)

About Marcus

Who me? Introverted, neurotic, self-absorbed, increasingly cynical observer of human nature and part time social critic in hiding. Most of my life spent avoiding growing up. The naive idealistic passions of youth have evolved into the eclectic eccentricities of adulthood. Northeast Florida small-town native, related to people I can't relate to. Simultaneously my own best friend and worst enemy. Politically and spiritually unaffiliated, my personal ideologies put me all over the map or off it completely.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to

  1. binky011 says:

    Man, I wish I could find the link right now… I read an article not too long ago about bird predation; specifically about egg eaters. It turns out that snakes are not the biggest source of that behavior. In fact, in ground-nesting birds, the worst predator was… get ready… deer. Yes, Bambi eats eggs and *baby birds*. In trees, squirrels were a significant source of predation. Snakes account for quite a bit of it, of course, but apparently have an undeserved rep.

    • marcsuttle says:

      I’ve read about snakes raiding bird nests. Some, like the Rat snake I mentioned, are good tree climbers which brings me to someting else I’ve noticed; Hawks in the vicinity flying just above tree-top level with what looks to be a snake hanging from their talons.

Leave a Reply

