who cares anymore?

Internet news headline this morning (only because at 7:00AM the newspaper had not arrived)-

Iraq brings first charges against Saddam Hussein

I’m beginning to think Iraq would be better off if we dropped any charges against Saddam, pulled out our military and let him have his country back.

About Marcus

Who me? Introverted, neurotic, self-absorbed, increasingly cynical observer of human nature and part time social critic in hiding. Most of my life spent avoiding growing up. The naive idealistic passions of youth have evolved into the eclectic eccentricities of adulthood. Northeast Florida small-town native, related to people I can't relate to. Simultaneously my own best friend and worst enemy. Politically and spiritually unaffiliated, my personal ideologies put me all over the map or off it completely.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to who cares anymore?

  1. cat_wrangler says:

    Anyone remember Viet Nam? I’m sure that might inflame some folks, but since I had a few relatives die there, I feel like I can speak for some of us who were opposed to the military industrial complex then…and are opposed to fighting for oil now…but then I’ve always been a bit of a loose cannot.
    A few members of Chumbawumba updated “Feel Like I’m Fixin’ to Die Rag” and it’s quite appropriate:
    “Well come on mothers don’t delay,
    Pack your boys off to the Gulf today.
    Come on fathers don’t hesitate,
    Send them off before it’s too late.
    Be the first one on your block
    To have your boy come home in a box!”
    (a box which it will be illegal to show in a photograph in the media, btw)

    • cat_wrangler says:

      a loose ‘cannot’…
      …Freudian, Adlerian, Jungian, or just plain oppositional?

    • binky011 says:

      I always liked “Eve of Destruction” for the current war, personally. Although the refrain of “Feel Like I’m Fixin’ to Die Rag” fits this one pretty well. (“What are we fightin’ for?” – the WH seems to change the reason weekly.)

      • cat_wrangler says:

        *trots off to find my ‘anti war file’ on the music drive
        Yep, Eve of Destruction. Sky Pilot. Where Have all the Flowers Gone. Had to explain that one to my last ex. Wooden Ships. Think I’ll just drag out Blows to the Empire and go on to bed….

Leave a Reply

