enlighten my dark side

Recent TV ad for one of several current investigative format Police dramas stated- “everybody has a dark side”. Everybody? Do we really? Quirky, strange or weird maybe, but dark? I wonder if the impressionable minds of a certain age group who glue themselves to the TV screen end up believing that message if they see/hear it repeated often enough. Are we better off having them wait until they experience it themselves or head into life assuming the worst about everyone? The popularity of these shows seem to rely on the aberrant behavior of the bad guys. (I dislike the TV Police slang word ‘p**ps’ to the point I won’t even spell it out) I believe truth is stranger than fiction but some of these fictional criminals are pretty bizarre.

About Marcus

Who me? Introverted, neurotic, self-absorbed, increasingly cynical observer of human nature and part time social critic in hiding. Most of my life spent avoiding growing up. The naive idealistic passions of youth have evolved into the eclectic eccentricities of adulthood. Northeast Florida small-town native, related to people I can't relate to. Simultaneously my own best friend and worst enemy. Politically and spiritually unaffiliated, my personal ideologies put me all over the map or off it completely.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to enlighten my dark side

  1. binky011 says:

    Good question. It’s certainly an assumption I’ve seen quoted in many, many arenas. I think it goes along with the one which I can’t exactly remember now, but basically expresses the opinion that civilization is a thin veneer that we are all too ready to shed should times get hard enough.
    If you don’t mind ruining your sleep for a while, go check out Court TV’s website on serial killers. Then come back and talk about how bizarre fictional criminals are vice real-life ones. *shudder*

  2. cat_wrangler says:

    dark side?
    Dual nature. After 20+ years in mental health and child welfare, I believe that MANY HUMANS LACK THE ABILITY TO BE ALTRUISIC AND ARE LIKELY TO HARM OTHERS IN THE INTEREST OF SERVING THEMSELVES. But, from my voodoo catshit perpective, it’s all a lifepath, and some of us have more ‘interesting’ paths than others. Kind of like those of us who don’t really believe in ‘good’ and ‘evil’; intent is what separates us from each other’s throats.
    Praise Allah it’s only an opinion and we’ve all got the right to have ’em, discard ’em, and alter ’em. But I’m appalled at the glamorization of brutality. End of sermon. Back to Joe Walsh and another slow damn night.

    • binky011 says:

      Re: dark side?
      Praise Allah it’s only an opinion and we’ve all got the right to have ’em, discard ’em, and alter ’em. But I’m appalled at the glamorization of brutality. End of sermon. Back to Joe Walsh and another slow damn night.
      Yeah, I know what you mean. It’s okay to show someone blown into little bloody chunks, but you’ll make baby Jesus cry if you show nekkid bodies or *gasp* people expressing their love in a physical way. (Not that we get a lot of that being shown – mostly the only physical expression you see is of lust.)

Leave a Reply

