I wonder how they feel about dogs trained for war?

Starting July 4th, Charlotte is the host city for the Mennonite church convention. I know only a few details about Mennonites. Apart from their anti-war stance(which I have no problem with), the only first-hand knowledge comes from visits to people we know in northern Virginia who bought a Mennonite farm. The very large barn on the property was used to house a veal production operation. Without going into the details I saw, I’ll just say I have drastically reduced my veal consumption and pause to think whenever I see it on a menu. I consider myself an ethical dog breeder(though I have been chastised here on LJ for breeding ANY puppies). Both the Mennonites and Amish populations have a horrible reputation in the dog community as being among the worst examples of “puppy mills”. Interesting that as a Protestant denomination Mennonites should hold human life in such high regard but seem indifferent about the suffering of the rest of God’s creatures.

In today’s Charlotte Observer article about the Mennonite convention there is mention of a planned 1.1 mile walk for peace. Big deal, I walk 1.3 miles everyday(sometimes more than once) around the neighborhood with my dogs. If Mennonites want to get public attention about peace I would suggest a 1.1 THOUSAND mile stroll. Take a few calves and dogs along too, they probably need the exercise.

About Marcus

Who me? Introverted, neurotic, self-absorbed, increasingly cynical observer of human nature and part time social critic in hiding. Most of my life spent avoiding growing up. The naive idealistic passions of youth have evolved into the eclectic eccentricities of adulthood. Northeast Florida small-town native, related to people I can't relate to. Simultaneously my own best friend and worst enemy. Politically and spiritually unaffiliated, my personal ideologies put me all over the map or off it completely.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to I wonder how they feel about dogs trained for war?

  1. binky011 says:

    OK, I’m curious… what do you breed?
    For a second there, I saw “Mennonite” and thought “Moravian”, and wondered why they were in Charlotte and not Winston-Salem. Thankfully, that sentence is as far as I got in showing what an idiot I can be.

  2. mary919 says:

    Someone gave you grief about breeding here? I missed that. It’s be one thing if there were no market, but it seems to me as if this coming generation raises pets like the previous raised children.
    My sister takes better care of her Jack Russells than I ever did of my daughter :). So maybe it’s the cure for overpopulation πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ but also too pet therapy is booming in mental health and alzheimer’s research.
    The groomer we take our poodle to has space for customers to sell litters– but they’ve now had a rash of people stealing puppies 😦

    • marcsuttle says:

      The criticism came from someone who cares about pets but thinks there are more than enough unwanted/unloved cats and dogs available via Animal Shelters or rescue organizations that breeders like us are redundant. Neither of us are on the others friends list anymore but not because of our opinions on pets. Probably before you and I crossed paths.

Leave a Reply

