I have been known to sing/hum ‘Helter Skelter’ and ‘Sympathy for the Devil’ in the shower

Read an interesting blurb by an internet radio DJ stating the two most important groups are the Beatles and Kraftwerk, as opposed to the Beatles and the Rolling Stones. Here is his reasoning – “without kraftwerk’s pioneering ‘robot pop’ there would have been no new order, acid house, prodigy, electroclash, trance, breakbeat, grime or daft punk. without the rolling stones there would have been…fewer posh, drug addled poseurs in rock.” It’s one of those arguments that would never be settled without bloodshed but I have found myself drawn more in recent years to Kraftwerk’s “Computer World” than to either the Stones OR the Beatles.

But then I’ve always been a nerd.

About Marcus

Who me? Introverted, neurotic, self-absorbed, increasingly cynical observer of human nature and part time social critic in hiding. Most of my life spent avoiding growing up. The naive idealistic passions of youth have evolved into the eclectic eccentricities of adulthood. Northeast Florida small-town native, related to people I can't relate to. Simultaneously my own best friend and worst enemy. Politically and spiritually unaffiliated, my personal ideologies put me all over the map or off it completely.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to I have been known to sing/hum ‘Helter Skelter’ and ‘Sympathy for the Devil’ in the shower

  1. cat_wrangler says:

    rhetorical it is
    In some philosophies, it doesn’t matter WHO does it, it simply matters THAT IT WILL BE DONE.
    Or, to take a more Gnostic approach to the issue (as i still mourn Lennon and Harrison, I am not a fair and impartial participant), Jesus couldn’t have been martyred without Judas. Someone/something will happen, and it’s more dependent on which wheel we reside on this path.
    Really, this has nothing to do with Kraftwerk, the Fab Four, or the price of hog futures. I will, however, give in to my berserker side if you force me to listen to ABBA or the Captain and Tennille.
    God, what a weird bunch of callers tonight. Wonder if they will put up with proselytizing about Gnosticism….

Leave a Reply

