I also remember when doctors made house calls

Visited the doctor this morning for my yearly exam and everything was within acceptable limits and relatively unchanged since last year. I’ll spare you the details. Driving to the appointment today brought back thoughts of the many doctor office visits during my childhood/teen years. I can still recall the tile floors, furniture and wood trim even after 30+ years. There was another office feature, very common at the time, many people alive today have never experienced in person. A separate entrance and waiting room off to one side of the main area for blacks. Living in the “south” during the ’50s and ’60s exposed one to this scenario quite often. Young children on both sides of the partition, including myself, would peer around the edge to see who was on the other side without comprehending the social customs observed at the time. There was only one movie theater in town and blacks were made to buy tickets and enter via a side door which allowed them access only to the balcony seats.

OK, back to the present. July 4th weekend and I(we) have no plans. Nothing. Nada. Zilch. I am such a friggin’ homebody.

About Marcus

Who me? Introverted, neurotic, self-absorbed, increasingly cynical observer of human nature and part time social critic in hiding. Most of my life spent avoiding growing up. The naive idealistic passions of youth have evolved into the eclectic eccentricities of adulthood. Northeast Florida small-town native, related to people I can't relate to. Simultaneously my own best friend and worst enemy. Politically and spiritually unaffiliated, my personal ideologies put me all over the map or off it completely.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to I also remember when doctors made house calls

  1. mary919 says:

    I’m jealous. My sister from Iowa and her two daughters will be here tomorrow. I need a day to clean up my books at home, a day to write and a day to rest– and I’ll get none of that. Nothing. Nada. Zilch.
    And there will be that fun family stress– what she wants to do… what her kids want to do… what we MUST do because it’s a tradition… what we MUST do because we don’t see them very often…
    And it’s too hot. I think you’re going to be my hero for the 2nd half of my fifth decade– when I go into seclusion…

Leave a Reply

