the show does go on

One of the books I’m currently (re)reading is Tom Wolfe’s “The Electric Kool-Aid Acid Test” which chronicles Ken Kesey and his group known as the ‘Merry Pranksters’ as they travel the country in a day-glo painted converted bus wired for sound (and wired on acid) during the mid-’60s. This group filmed some of their activities, so when I saw “Laugh At Us:The Merry Pranksters Theatre” in yesterday’s TV listing I thought I might enjoy learning something new about this group during their “Intrepid Trips”. It wasn’t exactly as I imagined it to be. The “Merry Pranksters” in this case are a theatrical troupe based in Rock Hill, SC where most members have various ‘handicaps’ such as Down syndrome or autism. Some have trouble walking and one is confined to a wheelchair. Presented with assistance by the theater department at Winthrop University, these Merry Prankster plays are full fledged productions with weeks of rehearsals, stage props, lighting and costumes. Described as “extraordinarily talented”, these players and their performances leave you impressed with the power of the human spirit.

About Marcus

Who me? Introverted, neurotic, self-absorbed, increasingly cynical observer of human nature and part time social critic in hiding. Most of my life spent avoiding growing up. The naive idealistic passions of youth have evolved into the eclectic eccentricities of adulthood. Northeast Florida small-town native, related to people I can't relate to. Simultaneously my own best friend and worst enemy. Politically and spiritually unaffiliated, my personal ideologies put me all over the map or off it completely.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

