revolution nostalgia

So far this year I’ve read 43 books,(I wanna medal, dammit!) most of which were by or about the “beats” or late ’60s radical protesters. So what happened? Where did all that passion go? There are just as many injustices in the world needing our attention and we are involved in a war that just begs for mass demonstrations. True, it’s a wonderful example of deja vu, but I’m puzzled by the lack of activism. Oh, I get it now, we are all too busy blogging about it while we listen to downloaded protest songs(OK, not really, just some drum’n’bass) and reading about it at cnn.com or msnbc.com. I could quote Bob Dylan right now…

About Marcus

Who me? Introverted, neurotic, self-absorbed, increasingly cynical observer of human nature and part time social critic in hiding. Most of my life spent avoiding growing up. The naive idealistic passions of youth have evolved into the eclectic eccentricities of adulthood. Northeast Florida small-town native, related to people I can't relate to. Simultaneously my own best friend and worst enemy. Politically and spiritually unaffiliated, my personal ideologies put me all over the map or off it completely.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to revolution nostalgia

  1. marcsuttle says:

    Thanks for the medal. I’ll wear it with pride.
    I know my priorities are probably misplaced but apart from all the media coverage of Bob Geldorf’s effort(loved today’s interview on Sunday Morning) what most has my attention is the Pink Floyd “reunion” scheduled to occur at one of the Live 8 venues.

Leave a Reply

