not seeing the books for the pages

Starting the first of the year I made an effort to spend more time reading, quickly devouring ten books by mid February. Since then I’ve bogged down. “Demian”(Herman Hesse), “V”(Thomas Pynchon), “The Inheritors”(William Golding), “Been Down So Long It Looks Like Up To Me”(Richard Farina) and “Rats, Lice And History”(Hans Zinsser) are books I started but abandoned. Some after just a few pages and in one case, Farina’s “Been Down…”, almost halfway thru. Farina’s character ‘Gnossos’ just wore me out. He’s into everything, all the time(mainly exploring his own senses) but there is no “story” to follow! The reason I stayed with “Been Down…” that long was previously reading and thoroughly enjoying Farina’s collection of short stories and poetry(“Long Time Coming And A Long Time Gone”) which came out after his untimely death. But last night I picked up a book that I’ve been avoiding. My belief statement about books and literature in general: Older is better. Automatically reading anything on a current “bestseller” list is just dabbling in pop culture. People should think for themselves and not follow fads. We are too frequently pressured into immediate gratification. Libraries, used bookstores, flea-markets and garage sales are the best places to obtain reading material. Wait five-ten-twenty plus years then see if the book still holds up. Anyway, back to my current “book”. My wife is an avid reader and received a nice gift from our nephew this past year. It has been sitting on our coffee table for months and last night in frustration at my other failed attempts I picked it up and am now 100+ pages into “The Da Vinci Code”(Special Illustrated Edition) even though so far I’m not overly impressed with the character development, but for a nerd-geek like myself the historical-conspiracy plot has me hooked. (aaarrrggghhh!)

About Marcus

Who me? Introverted, neurotic, self-absorbed, increasingly cynical observer of human nature and part time social critic in hiding. Most of my life spent avoiding growing up. The naive idealistic passions of youth have evolved into the eclectic eccentricities of adulthood. Northeast Florida small-town native, related to people I can't relate to. Simultaneously my own best friend and worst enemy. Politically and spiritually unaffiliated, my personal ideologies put me all over the map or off it completely.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

