I see where disco is coming back, is punk next?

I never “got” punk. The combination of in-your-face bad manners and tuneless songs didn’t appeal to me. Of course the slick, well groomed dancers and easy to follow tunes of disco were a turn-off to me at the time because I was heavily into the pre-grunge(boots, jeans, t-shirts, flannel shirts, fatigue jackets with hair down to my shoulders) while in college. Very aware of disco while it was happening (just what do girls see in John Travolta that they don’t see in me?) it wasn’t until well after the peak of punk that I paid attention. Never willing to put down money for “dance” music, a few years ago a former neighbor gave me his copy of the “Saturday Night Fever” soundtrack he was going to throw out otherwise. However I do have four albums and one cassette by The Clash that I paid for. They aren’t played often but today I gave them a chance. On the turntable went The Clash’s “first”, “London Calling” and “Combat Rock”. I’m thankful for the lyric sheets. Joe Strummer & Mick Jones seemed to take potshots at targets in a very British way of life (and a few at the excesses of Americans) but I can’t say it’s music for “listening”. I get the impression it was intended to spark political/social activity either in demonstrations or at least acting out while attending a concert. Speaking of “acting out” in concert, I chose The Tubes to hear next. The self titled first and “Young And Rich” albums. Both groups were similar at their core in terms of commenting about the world they saw around them, but never were two groups as different in musicianship or image. The Tubes put more smiles on my face but The Clash elicited more sympathy for the plight they were singing about. Once again with The Tubes you had to pay attention to the lyrics and I question ultimately which was easier on the ears(or mind).

About Marcus

Who me? Introverted, neurotic, self-absorbed, increasingly cynical observer of human nature and part time social critic in hiding. Most of my life spent avoiding growing up. The naive idealistic passions of youth have evolved into the eclectic eccentricities of adulthood. Northeast Florida small-town native, related to people I can't relate to. Simultaneously my own best friend and worst enemy. Politically and spiritually unaffiliated, my personal ideologies put me all over the map or off it completely.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to I see where disco is coming back, is punk next?

  1. wackdaddy says:

    Combat Rock used to be one of my favorite albums, but I haven’t listened to it since my cassette tape of it apparently got too close to a magnet. Of course, way back then, I used to wear my hair spiked and wear studded leather bracelets…

  2. classytart says:

    The Clash are one of my favourite bands of all time. London Calling is one of my notional desert island discs, in fact. I think they are on the punk/ska boundary – far easier to listen to (while washing up, or cooking or cleaning, NOT reading) than the Buzzcocks, or the Sex Pistols etc. To me punk is about energy and attitude.
    Though my musical tastes are pretty varied, and I’ve never been able to really get behind any individual movement.

    • marcsuttle says:

      I knew The Clash dabbled in some “reggae” but was surprised to hear just how many tunes were done in that manner. Definitely easier to take than the Sex Pistols/Ramones style. I really had to pay attention without distractions to understand what Joe Strummer was singing though. I understand about varied tastes, one day I’m enjoying Beethoven and the next it’s on to The Prodigy.

Leave a Reply

