Oscar, Tony & Culture

After 29 years the Charlotte Repertory Theatre closed recently. I’m not a theater “goer”. At least not since I attended college or immediately after graduating when I would catch the occasional student production. Does it matter to me that there is one less choice to see live theater in this area? Yes and no. No, in that I probably wouldn’t have gone if they stayed around. Yes, in that in general for those who enjoy theater, the choice no longer exists. One item I find interesting is the hullabaloo around one play put on by the Charlotte Rep, “The Miracle Worker”, starring Hilary Swank. Hilary’s temporary presence caused a minor local sensation but in hindsight it was probably misdirected at the star instead of the company. Celebrity is a strong motivator to pay attention to something you might otherwise ignore. Kevin Spacey’s portrayal of Hickey in “The Iceman Cometh” had me wishing I lived much closer to venues where he starred in the play. Another moment of notoriety was the backlash from local “conservative” and religious personalities in reaction to the staging of “Angels In America”. Later, as a result(?), much of the local public funding for the arts was cut. I can’t count the times I’ve read, seen or heard about some art exhibition in San Francisco. Chicago, Boston, Philadelphia, D.C. or New York and sighed knowing I’d never see it live. The last museum visit was with the in-laws who happened to be here when the Ramses exhibit was in town. To borrow a John Lennon quip, it(along with most other “art” happenings) was simply an excuse for the local gentry to wear their jewelry so they could rattle it in public.

About Marcus

Who me? Introverted, neurotic, self-absorbed, increasingly cynical observer of human nature and part time social critic in hiding. Most of my life spent avoiding growing up. The naive idealistic passions of youth have evolved into the eclectic eccentricities of adulthood. Northeast Florida small-town native, related to people I can't relate to. Simultaneously my own best friend and worst enemy. Politically and spiritually unaffiliated, my personal ideologies put me all over the map or off it completely.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

