When did “let’s do lunch” become “message me”?

When going thru my career “hiccup” over a year ago, I was pointed toward “LinkedIn” by a former childhood/high school pal as a possible method of networking my way to a new job. It led nowhere. I see there are other business networking sites (Ryze, Ecademy, etc.) performing similar functions. At this rate the challenge is going to be how to network together all the networking sites. I think online journals face the same challenge. Too many people spread across an ever increasing number of websites. I’m not naive enough to think that LJ is the center of the web universe. (nor is the web the center of the “real” universe) There are plenty of blog/journal site. (Blogger, Blurty, Xanga, Diaryland, Typepad) However, few of them seem to offer easy access to people (or should I say online personas?) with similar interests. I don’t totally mind reading every minute detail of a blogger’s life as long as we occasionally break thru and make online contact.

At one of the sites I searched for several interests listed in my LJ profile. I received the following response each time-
Searched for “XXXXXX”
I know nothing of this “XXXXXX” of which you speak. Despite the enormous breadth, depth and obscurity of the (name of blog site) posts over the years, your oddball query has us stumped. Have you considered the possibility that “XXXXXX” is a nonsense phrase that is the product of your fevered imagination? Cos that’s my bet.

Oh well. So LJ still seems the best online place to be. (which gives me an idea for my next post so stay tuned)

About Marcus

Who me? Introverted, neurotic, self-absorbed, increasingly cynical observer of human nature and part time social critic in hiding. Most of my life spent avoiding growing up. The naive idealistic passions of youth have evolved into the eclectic eccentricities of adulthood. Northeast Florida small-town native, related to people I can't relate to. Simultaneously my own best friend and worst enemy. Politically and spiritually unaffiliated, my personal ideologies put me all over the map or off it completely.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to When did “let’s do lunch” become “message me”?

  1. mary919 says:

    NOT ONLY THAT, but on some of those places I can’t figure out how else to even find other blogs to read.
    So someone gives me an address on blogspot to go see something specific and I think hmmm… this looks interesting. Now I can look at the links he’s posted or the blogs of the people who comment to his posts, but that’s it… you apparently can’t just… like you said… click on an interest or find a community and look at its members.
    (hehe hehe I said “look at members” hehe hehe)
    ANYWAY– you know what I mean. I realize that LJ is too open and touchy-feely for a lot of folks, but I like being able to wander around aimlessly.

    • marcsuttle says:

      I bet you had a tough time keeping a straight face when you saw someone wearing a “Members Only” jacket back in the ’80s.

    • classytart says:

      I agree. I have a couple of friends who have blogger powered blogs embedded in their personal sites, and they’re a pest. You have to go to each blog separately, and you can’t surf friends. The LJ Friends Page is its strength, I think.
      That, threaded comments, and searchable interests.

Leave a Reply

