mood for a day…

The subject above and the way I feel is really the polar opposite in many ways from the song with the same title by ‘Yes’. Searching thru my album collection yesterday I came across an artist I hadn’t played in a while. Tonio K. You probably never heard his name. An album review for a 1980 issue of Stereo Review by the infamous critic Steve Simels(read it here) originally alerted me to Tonio and I began looking for his work. Deeply sarcastic with scathing lyrics, he laid waste to everything in his field of vision.

Punk came and went before I realized what was happening. Angry New Wave caught my attention thanks to MTV just before being pushed aside by “hair bands”. But somehow I managed to get my hands on a few darker nihilistic musical points of view which, in my opinion, have held up well over time. Tonio K.’s vision may be the most disturbingly accurate over the long term. Check it out if you haven’t already.


(The Funky Western Civilization)
well there’s a riot at the courthouse
there’s a fire in the street
there’s a sinner bein’ trampled
by a thousand pious feet
there’s a baby
every minute
bein’ born without a chance
now don’t that want to make you jump
right up
and start to dance?

they put jesus on a cross
they put a hole in j.f.k
they put hitler in the driver’s seat
and looked the other way
now they’ve got poison in the water
and the whole world in a trance
but just because we’re hypnotized
that don’t mean we can’t dance

(H-A-T-R-E-D)
yes i wish i was as mellow
as for instance jackson browne
but “fountain of sorrow” may ass
motherf!#*er
i hope you wind up in the ground

The punch line to all this? Tonio K. is now classified as a “christian” artist.

About Marcus

Who me? Introverted, neurotic, self-absorbed, increasingly cynical observer of human nature and part time social critic in hiding. Most of my life spent avoiding growing up. The naive idealistic passions of youth have evolved into the eclectic eccentricities of adulthood. Northeast Florida small-town native, related to people I can't relate to. Simultaneously my own best friend and worst enemy. Politically and spiritually unaffiliated, my personal ideologies put me all over the map or off it completely.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

