I’m continually amazed at what I don’t know

And I thought (besides Tommy et al.) the only pop/rock music to make it to the stage was (shudder) Mama Mia and the Billy Joel thingy now on tour. (don’t get me wrong, I’ve REALLY liked his music since “Piano Man” hit the airwaves up thru “An Innocent Man”, I just think he has become a blowhard and bad driver who should have never divorced Christie Brinkley…or did she divorce him for the same reasons? eh, who knows?) Anyway, I was pleasantly surprised to see several other “real” works make the transition from vinyl to stage. Mainly the “Happiness Stan” suite taken from the Small Faces album “Ogden’s Nut Gone Flake”, an absolute classic from 1968 and one of my favorite to crank up while motoring down the road. “Happiness Stan” was Act I in a four act 1999 production by the Boston Rock Opera including (among others) “SF Sorrow” by the Pretty Things, some of “Aqualung” by Jethro Tull, David Bowie, Donovan, Kinks, Queen and Roxy Music.

About Marcus

Who me? Introverted, neurotic, self-absorbed, increasingly cynical observer of human nature and part time social critic in hiding. Most of my life spent avoiding growing up. The naive idealistic passions of youth have evolved into the eclectic eccentricities of adulthood. Northeast Florida small-town native, related to people I can't relate to. Simultaneously my own best friend and worst enemy. Politically and spiritually unaffiliated, my personal ideologies put me all over the map or off it completely.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to I’m continually amazed at what I don’t know

  1. mrsmartian says:

    Hit me with your rythmn stick.
    Ok, i need to know this, so forgive me for asking.
    Have you listened to Ian Drury and the Blockheads?

    • marcsuttle says:

      Re: Hit me with your rythmn stick.
      Maybe one video segment and a few photos in the mid ’80s. They didn’t go over well in the States. He was one of the “oddest” front men on stage but that what was so great about the ’70s-80s, all the “rules” changed. I did read later where he had polio as a child plus he was overall very talented and appreciated on your side of the pond. (Was it the “Urgh, A Music War” movie he was in as one of many acts filmed?)

      • mrsmartian says:

        Re: Hit me with your rythmn stick.
        Yeah, he did have Polio and was odd looking. That’s true. I couldn’t say for sure about the movie. I don’t know.
        The reason i asked was simply due to your diverse tastes in music. I just imagined he’d appeal to you. He wrote great lyrics and the Blockheads could make fabulous noise.

      • marcsuttle says:

        Re: Hit me with your rythmn stick.
        A lot of (good) British punk, new-wave and pub rock didn’t register on my radar until well after the fact because of mainstream groups like Fleetwood Mac, The Eagles (plus disco) getting all the radio attention in the U.S. I did listen to two CDs by “The Jam” earlier today. This is the modern world! This is the modern world!…

      • mrsmartian says:

        Re: Hit me with your rythmn stick.
        YEAH! The Jam.Now you’re talkin’. They were great too.
        Now, How about The Undertones? My perfect cousin and the Fabulous! Teenage Kicks.
        Great times, better music.

      • marcsuttle says:

        Re: Hit me with your rythmn stick.
        No, I can’t recall the others. I’m still strongly rooted in the ’60s/’70s with my “rock” tastes. Up until 1976 I thought Uriah Heep were GODS and only since 2000 or so have I fully appreciated how great Mott The Hoople really were. I’m still learning about new/old things and am wanting to pick up the first CD by Blodwyn Pig. (I have their second) I bought “The Jam” because I kept hearing they were musical descendants of the early Who and Small Faces.

Leave a Reply

