I would write a letter to the editor but who’d read it?

Taking a couple of the dogs for a stroll thru the neighbor at lunchtime today, I noticed something I thought unusual. Leaving our driveway, I saw that my neighbor across the street had not yet retrieved their morning paper. Along the way I noticed a few more papers lying about. This caused me to wonder just how many, so I kept count along the way. I was surprised to see a full 25% of all households had not yet read today’s Sunday edition of the Charlotte Observer. This troubles me. Most of those houses showed signs of activity. (window and doors open, vehicle sparked with people outside) Do people subscribe out of habit, custom or tradition and don’t really depend on the print media for news/information? (on many early morning outings before sunrise I often see the flicker of television screens. I find this odd because we rarely switch on the TV until 8:00 at night.) TV news has become so vacuous and wearisome to watch. Local stations are so pathetic they are hilarious in chasing trivial stories about nothing. I gave up on CNN/Headline news when they instituted the scroll and sidebar news items along with whomever was speaking. (very distracting)

I grew up with, and have maintained, the habit of reading the newspaper every morning during breakfast. True, it may have only been the comics or sports when I was a kid, but it remains my primary source of news. The Internet has supplemented that some but it’s hard to drag my desktop to just any room of the house, or weather permitting outside on a whim.

About Marcus

Who me? Introverted, neurotic, self-absorbed, increasingly cynical observer of human nature and part time social critic in hiding. Most of my life spent avoiding growing up. The naive idealistic passions of youth have evolved into the eclectic eccentricities of adulthood. Northeast Florida small-town native, related to people I can't relate to. Simultaneously my own best friend and worst enemy. Politically and spiritually unaffiliated, my personal ideologies put me all over the map or off it completely.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to I would write a letter to the editor but who’d read it?

  1. mrsmartian says:

    The editor would read it. After all, that’s who it would be addressed to!
    Have i missed the point yet?

    • marcsuttle says:

      The idea of “writing to the editor” is having the editorial staff pick your letter (from the many they receive every day) and print it in the editorial/opinions section of the paper.

Leave a Reply

