just a bit of synchronicity

Trivia yes, but I find this sort of thing happening constantly in my life.
Searching the web to learn more about the actor Hugh Laurie, the star of the new FOX series “House”, I learn he is a man of many talents. Oarsman, comic, musician, actor. One item I notice is his teaming with Stephen Fry whom he met while attending Cambridge and their subsequent BBC TV comedy series. Thinking Fry’s face familiar, I continue with my reading about Laurie. Later in the evening as I’m watching the “extras” portion DVD of my new “Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy” set, one of the segments is an episode of the BBC series ‘Omnibus’ outlining the life and career of Hitchhiker’s creator Douglas Adams. Adams also attended Cambridge with a similar interest in comedy. One of the people interviewed in the Omnibus show talking about Adams is Stephen Fry. Then it hits me. Fry was the star of the film “Wilde” telling the story of Oscar Wilde. A film I enjoyed so much I bought a copy. Further investigation shows that, before his death in 2001, Douglas Adams expressed his desire for Hugh Laurie to play the lead role character (Arthur Dent) in the movie version of Hitchhiker. (the role went to someone else)

About Marcus

Who me? Introverted, neurotic, self-absorbed, increasingly cynical observer of human nature and part time social critic in hiding. Most of my life spent avoiding growing up. The naive idealistic passions of youth have evolved into the eclectic eccentricities of adulthood. Northeast Florida small-town native, related to people I can't relate to. Simultaneously my own best friend and worst enemy. Politically and spiritually unaffiliated, my personal ideologies put me all over the map or off it completely.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to just a bit of synchronicity

  1. mrsmartian says:

    Laurie and Fry are very well known over here.Mostly for comedy roles but both seem to have branched out into more serious stuff as they’ve got older.
    Fry does the rounds as a talk show guest as he’s very sharp with a keen wit.Something of a national treasure no less!

    • classytart says:

      Don’t forget his gloriously filthy novels.
      I am a big fan of that particular Cambridge set. Emma Thompson is also one of their gang.

      • marcsuttle says:

        I remember reading about Emma in one of the Laurie profiles I found. Fry sounds like a modern day Oscar Wilde-like character.

      • classytart says:

        He is. He was perfect to be cast as Wilde because he’s our modern version.
        And I desperately want to me his friend. I am in celebrity love with him, and think I always will be. He has a great mind, a great sense of humour, and a doozy of a voice.

    • marcsuttle says:

      Besides the career as an oarsman cut short by injury, what really surprised me about Laurie is on the FOX TV series, there is no trace of a British accent. Does he normally have one? (and no hint he is trying to cover one up)

      • mrsmartian says:

        Oh yeah, he’s very british. I expect theres no trace because he’s a good actor.

      • mary919 says:

        See “Sense & Sensibility” also starring Emma Thompson. He steals every scene he’s in. I haven’t seen the Fox series & can’t imagine him without an accent 🙂

      • marcsuttle says:

        He has a perpetual 4-5 day growth of beard and is not a “people” person. Rumpled but stylish (non-doctorish) appearance, very sarcastic/sardonic in his outlook on EVERYTHING. (hiding some deep feelings hinted at occasionally when shown in moments of reflection and solitude) Spends most of each show actually avoiding the patient he is trying to cure in addition to everyone in general. Constantly popping vicodin like M&M’s for some injury which forces him to walk with a cane. (Wonder if related to his real life injury?)

Leave a Reply

