too much free time

As a fan of vinyl albums, over the years I’ve developed an appreciation for the artwork that went on and into the packaging. As an amateur “collector” some albums have ended up on the shelf just because I thought the cover was unique. Many books have been published on the subject including one of the first and most famous, the Roger Dean edited “Album Cover Album”. When I starting collecting jazz a few years ago I began to notice some similarities or coincidences in the cover art. Avoiding the areas covered by Dean and most other books on the subject I’ve seen, here are a few examples I thought were interesting mostly related to jazz. (Click Here) Always on the lookout for more…

About Marcus

Who me? Introverted, neurotic, self-absorbed, increasingly cynical observer of human nature and part time social critic in hiding. Most of my life spent avoiding growing up. The naive idealistic passions of youth have evolved into the eclectic eccentricities of adulthood. Northeast Florida small-town native, related to people I can't relate to. Simultaneously my own best friend and worst enemy. Politically and spiritually unaffiliated, my personal ideologies put me all over the map or off it completely.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to too much free time

  1. mary919 says:

    Very interesting… I recognize the Dave Brubeck and the Sonny Clark albums from my childhood. Some of the similarities are really clear– are they homages? What’s that “Trombone By Three?”

    • marcsuttle says:

      (3 trombonists J.J. Johnson/Kai Winding/Bennie green)Three ghoulish looking monks(?) Thought they were similar to the drab gray little round men on the “brothers” cover. There was a lot of debate about Tone-Loc “ripping-off” the Donald Byrd artwork, then BlueNote come out recently with a variation of the original on a hip-hop/dubbed CD of ’70s BlueNote artists as more of a homage. When I saw the Clinic CD I was surprised they were that gutsy to copy the Ornette Coleman artwork.

      • mary919 says:

        I’m headed to Borders after work. Do you know of any new releases of essential albums from the 40s & 50s that I might be able to surprise him with? 🙂 He usually assigns us a few, but I haven’t heard a peep out of him musically this year.

      • marcsuttle says:

        Blue Note seems to continually re-issue titles where Rudy Van Gelder was the original engineer. (RVG issues) There was also a Dexter Gordon box set a few months ago. I do most of my shopping “used” at The Record Exchange, CD-Warehouse or Manifest.

      • marcsuttle says:

        Does he like Reggae? Supposedly a good set out- Golden Era 1960-1975, what I want is the Faces box set “five guys walk into a bar…”

      • mary919 says:

        oh noooooooooooo

Leave a Reply

