monday moody ramblings

Bending over to retrieve the unopened bag of cat litter in response to a “honey-do” request, I came face to face with our ghost of christmas past hanging from the side of a storage cabinet in our garage. Red and green with a considerable amount of dust it has hung there unused for years. It is a heavier duty, four-legged model, built to last. The question is how many more years will we keep the christmas tree stand stored this way before we rid ourselves of it to make room for some other more necessary item?

The “seasonal score” so far; maybe a half dozen or so cards received and none sent. Parties? None given nor invitations received. No online or mall shopping trips on our part and so far only one email threat from our nephew in Mexico about a gift on its way from Amazon. (the online store, not the river basin) He says the pink panties are mine and the bow & arrow hunting set are for my wife…I dunno, she is the one who talks of taking archery classes in school. Treats? The wife has baked several dozen(1″&2″ mini pecan pies, peanut butter with hershey’s kisses, fudge, homemade ginger snaps and some pink looking peppermint/white chocolate concoction) An assortment of hers, mine and ours.

The sun is out, no clouds in the sky and the projected high temperature today is…freezing. Not totally unheard of but still unusual when the normal “low” is five degress ABOVE freezing. Except for having to deal with the dogs tracking mud indoors, I almost wish it was rainy (sleet/snow) and generally dreary so when I played my Nick Drake CDs the “mood” would fit. The lyrics I started the day with are inane but when I hear them my mood is uplifted somehow.(a tune from my youth in 1969 when I was 12/13 and beginning to awaken to the world around me)
Gliddy gloob gloopy
Nibby nabby noopy
La la la lo lo
Sabba sibby sabba
Nooby abba nabba
Le le lo lo
Tooby ooby walla
Nooby abba naba

About Marcus

Who me? Introverted, neurotic, self-absorbed, increasingly cynical observer of human nature and part time social critic in hiding. Most of my life spent avoiding growing up. The naive idealistic passions of youth have evolved into the eclectic eccentricities of adulthood. Northeast Florida small-town native, related to people I can't relate to. Simultaneously my own best friend and worst enemy. Politically and spiritually unaffiliated, my personal ideologies put me all over the map or off it completely.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to monday moody ramblings

  1. mary919 says:

    Which song is that??
    The best thing about those mini pecan pies is filling them up the rest of the way with whipped cream in a can. Or ice cream. Yum. We’re supposed to be making oatmeal chocolate-chip cookies tonight.

Leave a Reply

