The search (and journey) continues…

Still searching for the proper background music to help my mood, today’s musical selections I chose to feed into my PC CD player as I work focuses on the Hammond organ as played by various jazz artists of the ’60s.(Jimmy Smith, Freddie Roach, Charles Earland, Larry Young etc.) In addition to the work of those artists, I also have two Blue Note compilations. “So Blue, So Funky/Heroes of the Hammond” Volume 1&2. It definitely isn’t seasonal, but it does sort of make you wiggle around some even while seated.

“Poetry is ultimately mythology, the telling of the stories of the soul in its journey through this life, its passage through time and history.” (Stanley Kunitz, poet) jinzi posted recently asking her LJ friends if they had any writing to share. If curiosity drives you to read about the observations of another on his “journey”, visit the website(notsosubtle) listed on my LJ user page. Comments & criticism welcomed.

About Marcus

Who me? Introverted, neurotic, self-absorbed, increasingly cynical observer of human nature and part time social critic in hiding. Most of my life spent avoiding growing up. The naive idealistic passions of youth have evolved into the eclectic eccentricities of adulthood. Northeast Florida small-town native, related to people I can't relate to. Simultaneously my own best friend and worst enemy. Politically and spiritually unaffiliated, my personal ideologies put me all over the map or off it completely.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to The search (and journey) continues…

  1. mary919 says:

    I read them all when I first found you. Loved all of them– mostly I was surprised. We come from the same school of poetry and I haven’t found many other poets online who do come from that school. I meant to go back through and critique some but never did do that… yet. I will. My New Year’s Resolution is to get serious about the writing.

    • marcsuttle says:

      Thank you. Would love to discuss “the same school of poetry” comment further. I agree about not finding much similar on the web.(other than researching poets I learn about elsewhere) Libraries or used book stores, especially when seeking inspiration, seem to yield the best results.

      • mary919 says:

        Grrr 🙂 I really want to talk about this, but shouldn’t right now. I haven’t thought about this all in years, but it’s got to do with sharp focus on a specific thing. It looks very simplistic on the surface, but rather than directly addressing Big Ideas, it’s more subtle.
        “so much depends upon a red wheelbarrow…” 🙂
        It’s also got to do with using line breaks to slow down the cadence to something resembling thoughtful speech rather than using metre and rhyme to get things galloping along.
        I think it is considered “old-fashioned” now– maybe that’s why you find it in used book stores 🙂

      • marcsuttle says:

        After some searching I think I understand what you meant by the “red wheelbarrow”.(I wasn’t familiar with William Carlos Williams’ poem) I’ve never studied poetry in a classroom setting. One of the things I kick myself for is pursuing a technology focused education thru college not realizing until much later what I missed. Subsequently I’ve tried to make up for lost time. Observations, opinions, experiences, hopes, dreams are some of the things that make its way into words. I struggle with content AND form at times but hold no allegiance to rhyme or meter. I write what I am/I am what I write might apply.

Leave a Reply

