Trying to acquire some sort of holiday spirit with the only seasonal item I own, I’ve repeatedly listened to Vince Guaraldi’s soundtrack for “A Charlie Brown Christmas”. Hasn’t worked yet, so today started off with four Miles Davis Quintet CDs; Workin’, Steamin’, Cookin’, Relaxin’. Miles’ pianist Red Garland, whose name seems well suited for the holidays, helps set a mood similar to Guaraldi’s which seems more downbeat or melancholy than uplifting or cheerful. Maybe that’s why I like the soundtrack CD so much – it accurately reflects my outlook this time of year.

About Marcus

Who me? Introverted, neurotic, self-absorbed, increasingly cynical observer of human nature and part time social critic in hiding. Most of my life spent avoiding growing up. The naive idealistic passions of youth have evolved into the eclectic eccentricities of adulthood. Northeast Florida small-town native, related to people I can't relate to. Simultaneously my own best friend and worst enemy. Politically and spiritually unaffiliated, my personal ideologies put me all over the map or off it completely.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to

  1. mary919 says:

    You song sniper, you.
    Now I have the Guaraldi playing in my head & I haven’t even had that CD out yet this year. It matches my mood too.

    • marcsuttle says:

      I can think of many (MANY!) other worse songs to have stuck in you head. I cheated and copied the CD to my hard drive on my work laptop so it is always with me. Are you a jazz fan in general? (I have three other Guaraldi CDs and his music has a consistent “feeling”)Several years ago I switched from whatever it was I listened to and jumped headlong into ’40s,’50s,’60s jazz. Must be related to the age thing. Several of my archived LJ posts are how I relate to music.

      • mary919 says:

        I like female jazz vocalists a lot– don’t own that many– and was raised on jazz exclusively. BUT what I do have are many Christmas CDs. Unfortunately for Charlie Brown & his friends, the Elf soundtrack and Border’s Bargain Bin find called “Santa’s Greatest Hits” have dominated my playlist this year. Which might be why I’m feeling so ho ho hum about the holidays– too much glee is depressing 🙂

      • marcsuttle says:

        Besides the Charlie Brown, I have a collection of Baroque seasonal tunes Starbucks put out some years ago (listened to that this past weekend) and a Celtic xmas colletion buried somewhere.

  2. sidelobe says:

    Try a little Chip Davis – Manheim Steamroller Christmas. All of his music starts to sound the same, but it gets the blood moving in the right direction.
    I was recently introduced to the Trans Siberian Orchestra. I like their “Christmas Eve and Other Stories”. A little traditional sound plus some heavy metal guitar.
    But Vince Guraldi is still the best.

Leave a Reply

