to hell with book burnings, I say we torch a few iPods and cell phones

Today was a “burn” day. Living on a heavily wooded parcel of land I accumulate fallen limbs, cuttings and such several times a year until it gets to the point I throw a match to it and spend the day close by with the hose in case it tries to get out of control. Avoiding the smoke is futile and I always seem to have a killer sinus headache the next day.

Back in the late ’90s, I remember the surprise I felt when I learned Amazon.com had (up to that point) had not made a profit. Now I see where books are no longer their biggest selling item. (appropriated from bookslut_blog)

Which brings me to this-
One of these days I’m going to post one of my pet peeve rants. I firmly believe consumer electronics (of the personal portable variety) have negatively impacted society and we are all (whether we use them or not) worse off for it. To give you the Reader’s Digest version, if someone is listening to their portable mp3 player, using a GameBoy or talking on their cell phone then they are living a self contained fantasy by ignoring the real world around them and acting in what has become a self-centric, what-I’m-doing-matters most fashion.

About Marcus

Who me? Introverted, neurotic, self-absorbed, increasingly cynical observer of human nature and part time social critic in hiding. Most of my life spent avoiding growing up. The naive idealistic passions of youth have evolved into the eclectic eccentricities of adulthood. Northeast Florida small-town native, related to people I can't relate to. Simultaneously my own best friend and worst enemy. Politically and spiritually unaffiliated, my personal ideologies put me all over the map or off it completely.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to to hell with book burnings, I say we torch a few iPods and cell phones

  1. selki says:

    To give you the Reader’s Digest version, if someone is listening to their portable mp3 player, using a GameBoy or talking on their cell phone then they are living a self contained fantasy by ignoring the real world around them and acting in what has become a self-centric, what-I’m-doing-matters most fashion.
    Like people who read books?

    • marcsuttle says:

      Reading (unless you have a headset on listening to music) allows you to be open for input from the world around you, including the possibility of impromptu conversation from the next stranger who walks by. Anyone “plugged” into something, often act as if they don’t want to know what else is happening in their immediate vicinity. Anyone passing by can see the book you are reading and inquire about the reader’s opinion, but I’ve never seen someone with a headset on stopped and asked if the tune they were listening to was any good.

Leave a Reply

