In dog years, I’m dead.

One of the results of owning an obedience titled, conformation champion show dog(Irish Setter), showing some “bird sense” and no health or temperament problems is ongoing inquiries about his availability for “stud”. Last night my wife mentioned that ‘Bailey’ (our Irish boy) has four “girlfriends” lined up.

I considered responding with several cheeky comments but as I carefully reviewed each one(mostly statements about jealousy or envy on my part) I thought it better to say nothing.

Then she said she hoped that losing his virginity wouldn’t change him…

About Marcus

Who me? Introverted, neurotic, self-absorbed, increasingly cynical observer of human nature and part time social critic in hiding. Most of my life spent avoiding growing up. The naive idealistic passions of youth have evolved into the eclectic eccentricities of adulthood. Northeast Florida small-town native, related to people I can't relate to. Simultaneously my own best friend and worst enemy. Politically and spiritually unaffiliated, my personal ideologies put me all over the map or off it completely.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to In dog years, I’m dead.

  1. beccak1961 says:

    I saw you on 40something and surfed over. I love Irish Setters. I remember when I was a little girl I read *Big Red* lol. The closest I got to owning one was an irish/black lab mix. Beautiful dog, jet black but with the feathers.

    • marcsuttle says:

      I’ve often thought a solid “black” setter would be great to have. Built like the Irish instead of the stockier Gordons. My wife dabbles in dog genetics and she came across an item describing crossing a Portuguese Water Dog with an Irish that yields what you described.
      When I finally saw “Big Red” for the first time as an adult I was so disappointed. Usually Disney does a better job but then again it’s tough to top Mary Poppins or Jungle Book. Found one of the original large movie posters and have it framed.
      Here is the link to my wife’s Setter site-
      http://www.geocities.com/Heartland/Woods/2189/

Leave a Reply

