I don’t think I’ve documented any of my dreams. Usually because I can only remember fragments. Friday night after watching ‘Joan of Arcadia’ I dreamt I was a police officer in a setting similar to where Joan’s father is employed as a detective. I was a uniformed patrol officer and it was my first day on the job. Climbing into the front seat of the patrol car I discovered that three officers, including myself, had been chosen to ride together. The driver was a female strongly resembling the new Internal Affairs character introduced during that evening’s episode of ‘Joan'(Annie Potts), the other was male but I don’t recall any features. I tried to sitting in the middle on the front seat but that proved difficult due to all the equipment the car contained. I volunteered to climb into the back seat but expressed concern about being able to let myself out since that is where suspects are carried with no way for them to open the back doors. Our first stop was a non-chain family style home-cooking restaurant where I was picked to go in and buy coffee for the three of us. I made my request at the cash register for three black coffees to go but the lady ignored me. I asked politely several more times before another woman explained that another police officer had stopped in earlier and received “free” coffee. She showed me a tally sheet indicating two free cups and said something about not being in business to provide free coffee to the entire police force. I showed her the money I was holding in my hand and told her I expected to pay. She then grudgingly filled three styrofoam cups and covered them with plastic lids. This entire transaction took 10 to 15 minutes and I was wondering when my fellow officers were going to come looking for me. As I gathered the cups to go outside the dream ended.

I don’t drink “regular” coffee. Never have.

Something I’ve been curious about for years (and this had nothing to do with Annie Potts) is when you dream about another person what is the possibility the other person is simultaneously having the same dream about you?

About Marcus

Who me? Introverted, neurotic, self-absorbed, increasingly cynical observer of human nature and part time social critic in hiding. Most of my life spent avoiding growing up. The naive idealistic passions of youth have evolved into the eclectic eccentricities of adulthood. Northeast Florida small-town native, related to people I can't relate to. Simultaneously my own best friend and worst enemy. Politically and spiritually unaffiliated, my personal ideologies put me all over the map or off it completely.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to

  1. Anonymous says:

    they arent. I have had dreams about friends of mine and told them the very next day and their dreams were nothing like mine. But your dream was interesting. Mine are scarey, frightful. Maybe that’s one reason I cant sleep. hmmmm

Leave a Reply

