turns out I really am my own worst enemy

Scanning the Internet I discovered the most recent published murder rate for the U.S. is somewhere around 15,000 per year. That is bad enough but then I read where the U.S. suicide rate is just over 30,000 per year! Does this mean I’m twice as likely to die by my own hand versus someone else doing the deed? Males are four times more likely to kill themselves than females. Whites have the highest suicide rate of all races. As a white male I’m worried. Forget about all those suspicious and shady characters I encounter in life, I’m going to have to keep an eye on myself at all times.

The statistic on suicide by firearm (55% of total) was taken from a report by ‘Anderson and Smith’. My first reaction was to ask if that Smith was related to ‘Smith & Wesson’ and what were the ranking of the guns manufacturers for suicides?

On the return part of my Atlanta trip yesterday, I picked up five jazz CDs from ‘CD Warehouse’. Among them was “Charlie Parker with Strings: The Master Takes”. Now I realize that there is some middle-period Miles Davis that is considered the epitome of seduction background music but to my ears the studio tracks on the Charlie Parker CD hold up well in that category. (the “live” cuts may not be appropriate due to the possible bad timing of the applause)

About Marcus

Who me? Introverted, neurotic, self-absorbed, increasingly cynical observer of human nature and part time social critic in hiding. Most of my life spent avoiding growing up. The naive idealistic passions of youth have evolved into the eclectic eccentricities of adulthood. Northeast Florida small-town native, related to people I can't relate to. Simultaneously my own best friend and worst enemy. Politically and spiritually unaffiliated, my personal ideologies put me all over the map or off it completely.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to turns out I really am my own worst enemy

  1. mrsmartian says:

    “Now I realize that there is some middle-period Miles Davis that is considered the epitome of seduction background music”
    This bit made me laugh, in a wry “ohh yeah!”, sort of way. That man has a lot to answer for.

  2. Anonymous says:

    never leave home without your friends Mr. Smith and Mr. Wesson

Leave a Reply

