you’ve come a long way baby

My wife and I were chatting about women and stress tonight over supper when she commented that the Equal Rights Movement did more harm than good to women and actually benefited men the most. The assumption, generally speaking, is that previously women were primarily responsible for ‘keeping house’ and raising the kids. (often daunting and thankless roles) Men worked to support the family. With more women entering the workplace, there should have been some sort of shift so that men took on a larger share of her ‘traditional’ roles but that didn’t happen. Also, with women contributing more to the family income it has reduced (somewhat) the pressure on men to be the sole breadwinner. In a society that no longer stigmatizes single mothers, they have suffered the most. Health issues relating to increased dependency on fast-food due to the lack of time to prepare nutritious meals has reached the pandemic stage. She also feels the added stress has lead to depression, insomnia, lowered immunity, and general ill-health among women.

Which reminds me, as she is propped up in bed preparing to watch ‘Gilmore Girls’, I have to clean up in the kitchen. (my job on many nights and I’m not complaining)

About Marcus

Who me? Introverted, neurotic, self-absorbed, increasingly cynical observer of human nature and part time social critic in hiding. Most of my life spent avoiding growing up. The naive idealistic passions of youth have evolved into the eclectic eccentricities of adulthood. Northeast Florida small-town native, related to people I can't relate to. Simultaneously my own best friend and worst enemy. Politically and spiritually unaffiliated, my personal ideologies put me all over the map or off it completely.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to you’ve come a long way baby

  1. vertamae says:

    Yikes, sounds like your wife has succumbed to some misogynistic propaganda. Pick her up a Ms. magazine tomorrow, will ya? 🙂

    • marcsuttle says:

      She feels she is the totally liberated woman which frees her from following any ideology including ‘feminism’. “why swould I want to be equal to men when I’m better?” is one statement I’ve heard many times. Other beliefs would have Betty Friedan/Gloria Steinem spinning in their…whatever.

      • Anonymous says:

        wow what a subject I better not subject you with a comment of mine! LOL
        ok, just one word ok or two…. equals not one better than the other
        sounds better to me 🙂

  2. mrsmartian says:

    Your wife has a point!
    “Which reminds me, as she is propped up in bed preparing to watch ‘Gilmore Girls’, I have to clean up in the kitchen. (my job on many nights and I’m not complaining)”
    She is also becoming something of a personal hero of mine.
    Thanks for posting this.

Leave a Reply

