some people don’t know the difference between a volcano and a rock concert

Saw an article in today’s Observer containing an AP photo taken at Mount St. Helens. (probably ran in a lot of papers) The photo shows steam and ash rising from the Mount and a group of people in the foreground watching from an observatory five miles from the crater. One of the spectators has both hands raised above his head with thumbs, index and pinkie fingers extended. Whoo-hoo! Rock and Roll! Paaarrty! I wouldn’t be surprised if he was yelling “Freeeeeebiiiiiirrrrd!” Thirty years from now when a coffee-table photo book of the Mount St. Helens saga makes the best seller list with the same photo reprinted, at least two dozen old geezers will tell their grandkids-“See that man with his hands raised in the photo? That’s me!”

Haven’t thought through why, but I’m reminded of something I saw over 20 years ago. Living in Tallahassee in the early 80’s I enjoyed attending ‘midnight movies’ on weekends at the nearby “Mugs & Movies”. One of those second/third run theaters, terraced seating allowing chairs/tables, serving nachos with pitchers of beer or ‘sangripple’. Some of the late night features I remember- ‘Wizards’, ‘Heavy Metal’ and rock & roll concert films. One night I was watching Led Zeppelin’s “The Song Remains the Same” and as the movie got to the part where each group member was first introduced in “character”, (as the “drummer” roars across the screen on a motorcycle) several members of the audience start pointing at the screen and telling everyone in ear-range- “It’s John Bonham! Yeah, That’s him! That’s John Bonham! Right there on the screen! Alright! John Bonham!”

Well, duh! Coulda fooled me. Thanks for the insight folks otherwise I would have gone through the entire movie thinking it was Snoopy the Dog or maybe Captain Kangaroo. As someone else says, “the mind is a terrible thing”.

About Marcus

Who me? Introverted, neurotic, self-absorbed, increasingly cynical observer of human nature and part time social critic in hiding. Most of my life spent avoiding growing up. The naive idealistic passions of youth have evolved into the eclectic eccentricities of adulthood. Northeast Florida small-town native, related to people I can't relate to. Simultaneously my own best friend and worst enemy. Politically and spiritually unaffiliated, my personal ideologies put me all over the map or off it completely.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

