say what?

I’m not looking forward to the day when someone I’m conversing with face-to-face starts talking in “internet shorthand”. Up until the introduction of personal computers for home use, amateur(ham) radio was the technical hobby of choice. Ham radio contains more than its fair share of the world’s tech-nerd-weenie-geeks (I include myself as one up to a point-stay tuned) but I still marvel at their ‘quirks’. CW, also known as Morse Code, sent using a telegraph key is still a very popular mode in the ham world. A system of shorthand is used making it more efficient. An example of this is sending the letters “H I” to signify laughter or amusement during a conversation. “HI” in Morse code is ‘dot-dot-dot-dot(H) dot-dot(I)’. It is usually sent twice as ‘HIHI’. No problem so far, but I have encountered more than one ham operator, who in the middle of talking to you face-to-face or in a normal voice conversation on the radio revert to the CW shorthand when they say or hear something they think is funny. Instead of laughter, you will actually hear them say “high-high” in conversation . I’m a ‘ham’ for chrissake and I think that is just too friggin’ weird! So I guess I should prepare myself for the first time I hear someone utter the words “el-oh-el” or “are-oh-tee-eff-el”, etc. instead of actually laughing. I won’t think it’s funny, just sad.

About Marcus

Who me? Introverted, neurotic, self-absorbed, increasingly cynical observer of human nature and part time social critic in hiding. Most of my life spent avoiding growing up. The naive idealistic passions of youth have evolved into the eclectic eccentricities of adulthood. Northeast Florida small-town native, related to people I can't relate to. Simultaneously my own best friend and worst enemy. Politically and spiritually unaffiliated, my personal ideologies put me all over the map or off it completely.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to say what?

  1. mrsmartian says:

    I swear, that if it were to ever happen, speaking face to face and what not. I would, under no circumstances, say anything remotely…um..sad.
    Promise.

  2. vertamae says:

    Sometimes I tell the cats I’ll be right back by saying, “Bee are beeeee”, but they have no idea what I’m saying. 🙂

Leave a Reply

