life at 27 MPH

Left home at 6:00PM Thursday and returned 6:00PM Saturday. First were business related appointments in Roswell and Marietta, then down to Tampa to pick up the Setter we are using as sire for our next litter then back to NC. Some observations: There is not a “good” time to travel through Atlanta during daylight hours. Expect delays. Not all gas stations have converted to “pay-at-the -pump”. Stopped at the next to last exit on Interstate 75 as I was leaving GA to fill up with less expensive gas before I reached Fl and found an older family owned BP still using the mechanical style pumps. The main cause of Interstate traffic congestion during the fall is not hurricane (this is the third Fl trip in two month and each time a hurricane blows thru a day or so after I leave) evacuation traffic but college football. Friday evening in FL just south of Interstate 10, I began to notice every second or third vehicle covered with Univ. of FL (gator) magnet, decals, license plate holders, vanity plate or flags/banners. Must have been a home game Saturday and the overnighters were headed to Gainesville. Leaving Tampa Saturday AM the game-day traffic was even heavier on I-75 north. I angled over to Jacksonville from Ocala off the Interstate and met with bumper-to-bumper traffic headed toward Gainesville in the opposite direction. Also, after turning onto Interstate 26 toward Columbia from I-95, I was in what seemed to be a convoy of USC Gamecock fans headed toward a evening event. Once north of Columbia I noticed traffic just as heavy southbound. It’s a good thing college football doesn’t coincide with rush hour. Because of my experience making a similar drive just a day or so ahead of Hurricane Frances, I was prepared for similar driving conditions with Jeanne approaching. I was really surprised when I encountered no delays or heavy traffic all the way around Jacksonville and up thru GA & SC. People either decided they had enough and were staying put or had left FL permanently.
I drove exactly 1300 miles and if you do the math that works out to about 27 MPH over the 48 hours I was gone.

About Marcus

Who me? Introverted, neurotic, self-absorbed, increasingly cynical observer of human nature and part time social critic in hiding. Most of my life spent avoiding growing up. The naive idealistic passions of youth have evolved into the eclectic eccentricities of adulthood. Northeast Florida small-town native, related to people I can't relate to. Simultaneously my own best friend and worst enemy. Politically and spiritually unaffiliated, my personal ideologies put me all over the map or off it completely.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to life at 27 MPH

  1. bluedragon73 says:

    Ugh, I have to do that too in about a month. I have no more time off till the end of the year and I have to take my mom home to NY from MI. The quickest way is to go through Canada, and it’s about 515 miles one way. I will probably leave early Saturday morning and be back Sunday night. I wish I still have the eyes to drive in the dark or else I would leave Friday afternoon.
    Get some rest today.

  2. vertamae says:

    Hey, you were in my neck of the woods. I’m in Marietta. 🙂

    • marcsuttle says:

      Cobb Cty is one of our ‘customers’. It was my first visit and I was impressed with how clean/nice/modern their facilities are. Hopefully they provide good service along with the image.

Leave a Reply

