I suspected we might be bankrupt

Some months ago, the Charlotte Observer added a feature called “The Buzz” to its editorial pages. Submissions are allowed by either phone or email, and billed as “short and snappy comments by anonymous Observer readers on the issues of the day”. I’ll avoid commenting on the concept in general but there was one statement printed in the 9/4/04 edition which I felt needed a reply.

The Buzz comment- “To those who say they don’t like John Kerry or George Bush, so they just will not vote, I ask you this: If you were offered a hundred dollar bill or a ten dollar bill, would you refuse to take either?”

Subtlecynic’s observation- since both bills are counterfeit, what difference does it make?

About Marcus

Who me? Introverted, neurotic, self-absorbed, increasingly cynical observer of human nature and part time social critic in hiding. Most of my life spent avoiding growing up. The naive idealistic passions of youth have evolved into the eclectic eccentricities of adulthood. Northeast Florida small-town native, related to people I can't relate to. Simultaneously my own best friend and worst enemy. Politically and spiritually unaffiliated, my personal ideologies put me all over the map or off it completely.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to I suspected we might be bankrupt

  1. cathawk says:

    Hi..fellow Joneser here. Do you honestly think there’s no difference between them? I’m pretty lukewarm on Kerry, but I find Bush in a whole different league. I’m intrigued by the suggestion that you see them as equally counterfeit (maybe I’m just hopeful that Bush isn’t as bad as he looks to me).

    • marcsuttle says:

      Twice before I’ve started a reply and both times they became ‘rants’. Removing all discussion of ‘issues’, party ‘platforms’, left/right, conservative/liberal blue/red, and the images portrayed by the media, I find the two candidates to be the same. Exhibiting personal characteristics, even though widely accepted as normal within the political process, which I find appalling and unbecoming of any person wishing to become President.
      The people most qualified to hold the office are too intelligent to involve themselves in the corrupt, dirty process called ‘politics’.

      • cathawk says:

        Hmmm, I guess I can see this..once one puts aside platforms, issues, and the like, that is. Thanks for giving me the brief version of your response 🙂

      • marcsuttle says:

        I have become some sort of ‘idealist’ in my older age. Expecting all people to aspire to a higher standard. Probably something I’ll never see. But better late than never for having personal principles.
        I can really relate to this statement from your LJ bio – (Have reached a point in my life where I’m yearning to slow down and simplify things, yet feel trapped by the momentum of my own trajectory.)

      • cathawk says:

        I think that coming to a point of idealism latter in life is a point of real spiritual (as opposed to religious)growth.
        Re: my LJ statement…yeah, perhaps because we’re at a similar stage in life (40s, right?). Achieved enough outwardly to know that it’s not all it’s cracked up to be and, therefore, looking to deepen meaning.

Leave a Reply

