it’s that time again

Happy birthday to me.

Feel like 34 and still act like I’m 17.

About Marcus

Who me? Introverted, neurotic, self-absorbed, increasingly cynical observer of human nature and part time social critic in hiding. Most of my life spent avoiding growing up. The naive idealistic passions of youth have evolved into the eclectic eccentricities of adulthood. Northeast Florida small-town native, related to people I can't relate to. Simultaneously my own best friend and worst enemy. Politically and spiritually unaffiliated, my personal ideologies put me all over the map or off it completely.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to it’s that time again

  1. mrsmartian says:

    Happy Birthday love!

  2. cat_wrangler says:

    Many wonderful returns of the day
    Power to you, and it’s always good to see another Fire Sign hanging in and making the most of what’s thrown our way.

  3. lousy_timing says:

    Happy Belated Birthday.
    I hope that it was a delightful day.
    The time has come to admit that I am most curious. I wandered over here from and found your entries to be quite thought provoking, and yet, you’ve only three friends listed thus far. I confess that I find this most unusual, as generally folks of your caliber tend to attract friends quite rapidly.
    Curiouser and curiouser.

    • marcsuttle says:

      Re: Happy Belated Birthday.
      After just two months or so on LJ I’m still trying to get a feel for how (and when) things happen. After looking(lurking mostly) around LJ the main reason I joined was the possibilty of being involved in some sort of community containing people with interests who were willing to communicate their ideas. A couple added me, others I added(including the ‘communities’). One theory is my age group. Do the different age brackets tend to segregate themselves? If so, there aren’t many like myself in the ‘over 40’ crowd. Hopefully, I’m not putting out any negative subliminal messages or vibes. Feel free to add me or recommend me to your friends.

      • lousy_timing says:

        Re: Happy Belated Birthday.
        My next post would have been the “mind if I add you” one, so thank you for answering that question. 🙂
        I haven’t noticed segregation with age, but I have noticed that commenting makes a difference. Things were pretty quiet around my journal until I started hopping links and commenting here and there. The other thing that made my friends list double literally overnight was writing a post on marriage that one popular LJ’er mentioned in their journal.
        That was overwhelming, because while I am social, I am also a bit phobic. I felt like I was going to have to entertain all these people. Fortunately, that didn’t turn out to be the case. Most of them seemed to like the fact that sometimes, I write posts of actual content (PoACs) sometimes, I vent or blather, and others, I write about life in general. Those who didn’t like that went away, and I didn’t mind that at all.
        I will definitely recommend you to my friends! It’s always nice to find new people with posts that are enjoyable to read and make one go, “hmmm.” Plus, you like Richard Brautigan. Major bonus points were earned there.

      • marcsuttle says:

        Re: comments, interests
        I too have left a few random comments where I felt appropriate but so far nothing has come of it. By far the most reactions have come as a result of posting in memory_muse. I quickly scanned your recent posts and noticed mention of ‘Prime Suspect’. I am a Jane Tennison/Helen Mirren fan. I enjoy all the other Brit/PBS/A&E Mystery series based in modern times.
        My favorite poem is by Richard Brautigan. It appears at the very end of a more recent collection of his early works- “The Edna Webster Collection of Undiscovered Writings”. I carry a copy on a scrap of paper in my wallet. It mirrors my outlook on the subject-
        Nature Lover, or Something
        I am
        not particular.
        I like whatever
        the sky happens
        to be doing at the time.

      • lousy_timing says:

        Re: comments, interests
        This is the first time I have seen “Prime Suspect,” and I was quite taken with it. Mystery Monday on BBCAmerica is my favorite thing on TV, and the only thing I actually don’t like to miss. I am hoping to pick up the DVDs of the previous PS seasons.
        I grew up with “Mystery!” on PBS, and the love of the genre stuck with me, though I must confess that I don’t like historical mysteries on the screen as much as I do in books. I much prefer the modern ones.
        I hadn’t seen that Brautigan poem before- thank you for sharing it. It is lovely in its simplicity, but then, that is one of the things that I admired about him. There are more books of his poetry I should still read, though. As my bio says, I dabble. I find something I love and immerse myself in it for a bit, keep parts of it with me always, and then pick up something new and do the same.
        Finding is Losing Something Else is the one that always remained in my head after I read it as a sophomore in high school. I always think of it as one that probably everyone who has read him knows. Do you think that’s true?

      • marcsuttle says:

        Re: comments, interests
        you wrote- “I dabble. I find something I love and immerse myself in it for a bit, keep parts of it with me always, and then pick up something new and do the same.”
        We are very much alike. I worry sometimes about not committing to a given interest. What I do find as time progresses is more of those interests are “things” from the past. Music, books, items I collect or use in my daily life. On the other hand, I’ve surprised a few younger associates when they discover some of the ‘generation-x’ interests I enjoy.
        Apart from Richard Brautigan’s ability to condense observations or thoughts so clearly into just a few written words, I also noticed nothing in his life was taboo. He wrote so honestly about everything including his bodily functions and sexuality. Far bolder than I could be.

  4. pasticcio says:

    Happy Belated Birthday 🙂
    I’ve added you to the community as you requested. Hope you enjoy your stay 🙂

Leave a Reply

