air travel is a real zoo

Even though I’m a Florida native, I still feel like I’m visiting a foreign country when I’m in Miami. It’s was that way on my first visit in 1978 and still the same this week. Each time there seems to be something new or “exotic” that I don’t see everyday here in BFE. After boarding and settling into my seat in the next-to-last row for the return flight last night, I was surprised to see one of the airline ground crew chiefs walking down the aisle toward the rear of the jet with what appeared to be a small animal carrier/crate. After checking with the attendant that no one was sitting in the last row, he placed the crate immediately behind and up under my seat where a person would normally extend their legs or place carry-on luggage. The crew-chief said the cargo hold was freezing and they didn’t want to leave the animal there for the entire flight. Since we breed dogs, I’ve had the opportunity to air-freight several to their new owners. The crate size made me guess it contained a kitten or a small-breed dog. Wrong! It was a monkey. Two things were in our favor. First, it was wearing a diaper and second it was relatively (but not totally) quiet. Then I read today about a cat getting loose on a European flight scratching the pilot causing them to abort and turn around. I guess that is one benefit of the new US domestic airline security measures where the flight crew is locked into the cockpit. They don’t have to worry about loose flying monkeys in coach class.

About Marcus

Who me? Introverted, neurotic, self-absorbed, increasingly cynical observer of human nature and part time social critic in hiding. Most of my life spent avoiding growing up. The naive idealistic passions of youth have evolved into the eclectic eccentricities of adulthood. Northeast Florida small-town native, related to people I can't relate to. Simultaneously my own best friend and worst enemy. Politically and spiritually unaffiliated, my personal ideologies put me all over the map or off it completely.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

