do as I say, not as I…(oops, forget I said anything)

The topic is hypocrisy but I’ll get to that in a moment. I’ve been known to utter the occasional curse word and also listen to ‘rap’, so don’t think this is crusade against either.

Will Smith has a (relatively) new movie out. ‘I, Robot’. No, I’m not planning to see it. I have too much respect for Isaac Asimov. Especially since the movie is only billed as “suggested by Isaac Asimov’s book”. The one Will Smith movie I’ve seen(and enjoyed) was ‘Enemy of the State’. Was it just me or did anyone else see ‘Enemy’ as ‘The Conversation, Part 2’?

I remember reading and hearing about Will Smith’s claim to fame as a rapper who refused to use curse words (swearing) in his lyrics. Admirable I suppose. But then I started paying attention to other aspects of Will’s career as an artist. Will doesn’t seem to have the same hang-up with the language he uses in movies. “Bad Boys”, also starring Martin Lawrence, is the example that comes to mind. Filled with much harsh language, Will stated in an interview that he felt the language was necessary in order to “commit” to the part. Talking out of one side of your mouth while swearing out of the other makes you look like a hypocrite.

One of ‘rap’s’ claim to having street credibility is the use of street language. I’m pretty sure that most cops on the job don’t use language as if they are attending church, so why should their representation in movies be any different?

Bravo to the artist who believes their art should be held to a certain personal standard, but without some consistency across all their work one begins to hear the sound of money talking. Oh, that’s right – money doesn’t talk, it swears!

About Marcus

Who me? Introverted, neurotic, self-absorbed, increasingly cynical observer of human nature and part time social critic in hiding. Most of my life spent avoiding growing up. The naive idealistic passions of youth have evolved into the eclectic eccentricities of adulthood. Northeast Florida small-town native, related to people I can't relate to. Simultaneously my own best friend and worst enemy. Politically and spiritually unaffiliated, my personal ideologies put me all over the map or off it completely.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

