a little off the top

At a much younger age I accepted the inevitable. Looking at both sides of my family tree prepared me for what was to come. Male-pattern-baldness(MPB). At least I can say I have experienced the entire range of hair styles. From crew-cuts as a youngster to shoulder-length in college.(no punk style spikes or artificial colors though) Now that is has mostly disappeared on top, what I miss most is the early warning system it provided by alerting you to the danger of something you were about to bump your head into. Being fair skinned, I find myself never leaving the house without something to cover my head for protection against the sun. (I also prefer long sleeved shirts even in the summer, but that’s another story) That brings up a question- when did men lose their manners (assuming they had them in the first place) by refusing to remove whatever is on their heads when they go inside a building? Weren’t they taught that as children? It irks me to go into any restaurant and see guys sitting around eating while still wearing hats or caps. Cretins.

MPB has caused me to realize several things-

1. Hair loss in men is a myth! You don’t lose ANY hair. It just migrates from your head to other parts of your body. Or it causes hair elsewhere to grow that much longer and thicker, which in some cases make other nearby “objects” seem smaller by comparison. (did I type that?)

2. Hair loss doesn’t begin where you normally think it does. Wishing I had more noticeable eyebrows, several years ago I happened to visit my mother and saw where she kept my high school senior “cap & gown” photo predominately displayed (as mothers tend to do) in her living room. Taken without me wearing glasses for some reason, I picked up the photo and realized that yes, I actually had full “normal” eyebrows at one time. So my hair loss started at a line extending across the bridge of my nose and worked its way back.

When I hear anyone complaining about having gray hair I always volunteer to take it if they don’t want it.

About Marcus

Who me? Introverted, neurotic, self-absorbed, increasingly cynical observer of human nature and part time social critic in hiding. Most of my life spent avoiding growing up. The naive idealistic passions of youth have evolved into the eclectic eccentricities of adulthood. Northeast Florida small-town native, related to people I can't relate to. Simultaneously my own best friend and worst enemy. Politically and spiritually unaffiliated, my personal ideologies put me all over the map or off it completely.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

