a nickel found is 5 cents someone else already paid the tax on

While running an errand I encountered a nicely dressed woman and her two young children, one of which had just found a nickel on the sidewalk. The other child was complaining about not having a nickel to spend. The mother replied that it didn’t matter because “you can’t buy anything with a nickel anymore”. My position has always been that if you find enough nickels you can buy anything you want.

Never one to bypass money lying on the ground, I’ve picked up a fair amount of loose change over the years. Torn between keeping my head up to enjoy the beauty (or maybe weirdness) of the world and staring at the ground looking for lost treasure as I stroll thru life. Occasionally the payoff is larger than expected. Aside from the time I found $6.06 in change in one place(why do I remember the amount years later?) the largest find was a twenty dollar bill. Years ago when I lived in a more urban area, walking or bicycling using back streets to avoid heavy traffic led me to the conclusion that the lower the neighborhood on the economic scale, the more likely you were to find money on the ground. (an indication about financial wealth and the value of money maybe?)

About Marcus

Who me? Introverted, neurotic, self-absorbed, increasingly cynical observer of human nature and part time social critic in hiding. Most of my life spent avoiding growing up. The naive idealistic passions of youth have evolved into the eclectic eccentricities of adulthood. Northeast Florida small-town native, related to people I can't relate to. Simultaneously my own best friend and worst enemy. Politically and spiritually unaffiliated, my personal ideologies put me all over the map or off it completely.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

