a raisin is simply the waste of a good grape

I’m not a connoisseur, but I can appreciate the color, bouquet and on rare occasions, the taste of wine. Then there is the entire operation of wine-making. From beginning to end, the work put into producing wine substantiates the result. There are plenty of other better tasting dried fruits and berries to choose from. So let those grapes be sacrificed for a nobler purpose!

On the other hand, I suspect wine has killed more people that raisins.

Found out today that the first death of a former classmate, that probably can be linked directly to alcohol consumption, occurred two weeks ago. I’m not talking about alcohol related car crashes or death by misadventure while drunk, but the actual process of drinking until your internal organs give up and shut down. We entered first grade in 1962 and graduated together 12 years later. Several years after high school, it was finally explained to me why the eyes of certain male classmates were blurry and bloodshot in their senior class photos. They were alcoholics in training and some of them made it their life’s career. Never anything but courteous and polite when I saw him at the business he ran for years, somehow though he seemed to be aging ten times faster than normal. Bad experiences with alcohol (and there have been a couple) always caused me to step back and rethink what I was doing. Sometimes I wonder if the only person you can save is yourself.

Richard Allen Wager 1956-2004

About Marcus

Who me? Introverted, neurotic, self-absorbed, increasingly cynical observer of human nature and part time social critic in hiding. Most of my life spent avoiding growing up. The naive idealistic passions of youth have evolved into the eclectic eccentricities of adulthood. Northeast Florida small-town native, related to people I can't relate to. Simultaneously my own best friend and worst enemy. Politically and spiritually unaffiliated, my personal ideologies put me all over the map or off it completely.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to a raisin is simply the waste of a good grape

  1. mrsmartian says:

    Most of us don’t even manage to save ourselves.

Leave a Reply

