I think that I will never see a poem as lovely as a tree.

As I worked out what I wanted to say in this post, the words used by Joyce Kilmer in his poem “Trees” came to mind as a fitting subject. Many years ago I came to believe that nothing else is as beautiful as nature. Nothing. Whether it was plants, animals, weather, natural/geologic features or phenomena. The latest example I saw of this was during a recent visit to the compost pile on our property. A day or so earlier I had poured leftover grease byproduct from the kitchen onto the rotting material. Upon my return I noticed a distinctive area of fungus growing where the oil was poured. Recent rains after several months of drought have caused various fungi to appear all over our property, but this new variety was different. It was a very brilliant yellow and reminded me of coral or other organisms that have unique texture and shape. I never thought something living off decaying matter would be considered beautiful.

In my collection of paper paraphernalia is a copy of Rush Limbaugh’s “35 New Undeniable Truths” given to me long ago by a former co-worker and ditto-head. I am not a fan of Rush. I used to enjoy Rush in the pre-Clinton years, but lost interest when his talk show became a monolithic rant against liberalism. (my beliefs put me entirely off any political map anyway) Plus, I think all he really wants to do is listen to his own voice. Number ‘8’ on his list says-“The most beautiful thing about a tree is what you do with it after you cut it down.” To which I can only say, Rush Limbaugh is a Philistine and I can’t wait to see what he gets made into after someone cuts him down. Any suggestions?

About Marcus

Who me? Introverted, neurotic, self-absorbed, increasingly cynical observer of human nature and part time social critic in hiding. Most of my life spent avoiding growing up. The naive idealistic passions of youth have evolved into the eclectic eccentricities of adulthood. Northeast Florida small-town native, related to people I can't relate to. Simultaneously my own best friend and worst enemy. Politically and spiritually unaffiliated, my personal ideologies put me all over the map or off it completely.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to I think that I will never see a poem as lovely as a tree.

  1. mrsmartian says:

    “I can’t wait to see what he gets made into after someone cuts him down. Any suggestions?”
    How about compost?

Leave a Reply

