nobody’s/anybody’s/everybody’s kids

One of the many “dog” related activities I and the four-legged redheads participate in is Therapy Dog visits. Nursing homes, hospitals and like today, homes for emotionally disturbed children. Several dozen kids I would guess between pre-school and pre-teen age had the opportunity to spend an hour this afternoon doing whatever they pleased with seven dogs. As the dog owners and staff watched the kids held, petted, admired, played and walked with the dogs.

Emotionally disturbed kids maybe, but the dogs didn’t notice. They looked and acted just like any other group of children out for a romp on the school grounds during recess.

So what classified them as emotional disturbed? Abusive parents? Absence of a nurturing or proper home life? Who knows. Not having kids places me in the position of looking at all other kids as somewhat alien creatures. I have often asked my mother or sister “was I like that?” when I see, hear or read about out of control, unruly or misbehaving kids.

I consider myself lucky in many areas of life. My parents, our home and the way I was raised as a kid is the top item on that list.

About Marcus

Who me? Introverted, neurotic, self-absorbed, increasingly cynical observer of human nature and part time social critic in hiding. Most of my life spent avoiding growing up. The naive idealistic passions of youth have evolved into the eclectic eccentricities of adulthood. Northeast Florida small-town native, related to people I can't relate to. Simultaneously my own best friend and worst enemy. Politically and spiritually unaffiliated, my personal ideologies put me all over the map or off it completely.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to nobody’s/anybody’s/everybody’s kids

  1. mrsmartian says:

    Hi, I added you after doing one of those random searches.I like your take on life.

    • marcsuttle says:

      take on life
      Noticed yesterday I gained my first friend on LJ. Thanks for your comment. After journaling for years with pen and paper and trying blog sites, this seems to be a better outlet in terms of finding somes sort of “community”. Falling somewhere in the vast middle ground between flaming ranters and sickly sweet do-gooders, I live on an emotional roller coaster which, though not too extreme, I feel the need to document occasionally.

      • mrsmartian says:

        Re: take on life
        “Falling somewhere in the vast middle ground between flaming ranters and sickly sweet do-gooders,”
        Well, i do my share of ranting though don’t tend to “do good” as…well, i’m just no good at that lark.
        I’m happy to be your first LJ friend. It still amazes me when i get comments on a post.

Leave a Reply

