bigger is not always better

A person growing up in a small town develops a unique idea of how the world should be viewed. Up until the time I moved away to start my junior year at college in 1976, the town I had called home for the previous twenty years was the center of my universe. With a population no greater than 4500 you tended to know everyone (and they knew you), if not by name then by their face, because you saw them on a regular basis. Having lived in the Charlotte area for the past 16 years and often having nostalgic thoughts about where I grew up I began noticing something I consider interesting if not odd. I can spend hours in any of Charlotte’s large shopping malls (and I love to shop) without encountering anyone I “know”. However, driving 400 miles south to rural North Florida and walking into the local Food Lion, Winn-Dixie or Eckerd, I will within five to ten minutes recognize someone I know on a first name basis and strike up a conversation even though we might not have seen each other in decades. The same is true when reading the local newspaper. Having read every page of the Charlotte Observer (except the sports section) starting in 1988 I can recall recognizing only two faces or names of people I “knew”. One was a former coworker whose position with a new company was noted in the business section, the other an engagement announcement for a fellow ham radio operator I ran into at various hobby related functions. Compare that to the once a week local home town newspaper sent by my mother for the past two years in which I recognize a half dozen or so names in every issue either in the news, obituaries, police report or whatever.

About Marcus

Who me? Introverted, neurotic, self-absorbed, increasingly cynical observer of human nature and part time social critic in hiding. Most of my life spent avoiding growing up. The naive idealistic passions of youth have evolved into the eclectic eccentricities of adulthood. Northeast Florida small-town native, related to people I can't relate to. Simultaneously my own best friend and worst enemy. Politically and spiritually unaffiliated, my personal ideologies put me all over the map or off it completely.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to bigger is not always better

  1. fozziewriter says:

    Stumbled accross your page
    I just had to leave a comment on your page because I really enjoyed reading your observations and insights. What a breath of fresh air. I appreciate the Jazz hints too. I just recently discovered John Coltrane and Miles Davis and I’m so very glad I did. Thanks!

    • marcsuttle says:

      Re: Stumbled accross your page/breath of fresh air
      Thank you for the positive feedback. When I began posting on LJ I wondered if anyone would take notice. Bracing for comments like “who cares?”, “so you think you’re special?” or “get a life” so far things are OK. (but I still anticipate something negative eventually, but it won’t kill me when it does happens) My obsession with jazz is concentrated primarily on post-swing era, pre-fusion acoustic small group combos. Probably because my ears needed the relief from the constant pounding by rock/metal/etc. since I was a teenager. I’ve also branched out into jazz related areas such as the marriage of jazz, hip-hop, techno and other styles.

      • fozziewriter says:

        You’re welcome
        Actually I think a lot of the “live-journalers” would have to get mommy or daddy’s permission to comment 🙂 Seriously, your journal was like reading the writings of a professional columnist. I don’t know much about jazz, I just stumbled upon it for something different and Miles is a legend around my parts.

Leave a Reply

