hmmm, election day is coming, I wonder who’s on TV

Something I learned today further strengthens my belief in what is wrong with politics in this country. Ben Stein was a speechwriter for Richard Nixon. I don’t know how my personal beliefs compare to Ben’s and frankly it doesn’t matter. (I understand Ben is a conservative and I would never classify self as one) I do respect his ability to communicate his opinions in well thought out and articulate style. Similarly several years ago I was surprised when I learned Bill Moyers was, among other things, LBJ’s press secretary. I have long believed that the people most qualified to run this country are too intelligent to get involved in the cess-pool called politics. The next time you watch a political debate ask yourself- “why aren’t the candidates’ speechwriters standing at the podium?”. Which is more important, the image or the idea?

About Marcus

Who me? Introverted, neurotic, self-absorbed, increasingly cynical observer of human nature and part time social critic in hiding. Most of my life spent avoiding growing up. The naive idealistic passions of youth have evolved into the eclectic eccentricities of adulthood. Northeast Florida small-town native, related to people I can't relate to. Simultaneously my own best friend and worst enemy. Politically and spiritually unaffiliated, my personal ideologies put me all over the map or off it completely.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

