Never thought I’d be nostalgic for Hee-Haw

gloom, despair and agony on me
deep, dark depression, excessive misery

As I look around LiveJournal for people of similar interests (No, Hee-Haw isn’t one of them!) and read their postings, I immediately notice the general youthfulness of the user population but am mostly surprised by the darker nature of their (at least online) personalities. Anger, angst, dread, ennui, gloom, pessimism, worry are honest expressions of feelings in any age. But why (or how) so many adopt those characteristics so young is perplexing. Wide-eyed wonder and exuberance replaced with nihilism. Has society changed that much? It took 20-30 years on my own before cynicism became a predominate facet of my personality. Not long ago I openly marveled how a co-worker, recently graduated from college (UNC-Chapel Hill), was the most jaded person I knew. I do not see any of this as a preventative to communication, but more of a curiosity of what they will be like when and if they make it to my age. Because from what I’ve seen, the world isn’t getting any easier.

Time to hop on the ole mule and mosey outta here.

About Marcus

Who me? Introverted, neurotic, self-absorbed, increasingly cynical observer of human nature and part time social critic in hiding. Most of my life spent avoiding growing up. The naive idealistic passions of youth have evolved into the eclectic eccentricities of adulthood. Northeast Florida small-town native, related to people I can't relate to. Simultaneously my own best friend and worst enemy. Politically and spiritually unaffiliated, my personal ideologies put me all over the map or off it completely.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

