you can’t go home again

Second posting today. I must feel like running off at the mouth(or keyboard). This past Friday was my 30th anniversary for what is generally considered an important milestone in many people’s lives. High school graduation. And guess what? No reunion was planned. Even though three of the class officers(prez, sec, treas) still live within the general area, not one of them has attempted to organize anything. A few of us from out-of-town (in my case just over 400 miles) plan to meet there some time this summer starting at Starbucks in the morning then later moving to someplace that serves adult beverages. I managed to save quite a lot of my writing from high school and one of the interesting items was a draft version of my entry for the senior class “last will and testament”. I eventually submitted a completely different version but in hindsight I should have stuck with my original thought which went like this-

“I ___________ being of confused mind and worn body leave _____ High with the thought that it is the most apathetic institution in which I have ever come in contact with.”

Turns out the former students (my classmates) were the real source of apathy.

I was outta there a long time ago.

About Marcus

Who me? Introverted, neurotic, self-absorbed, increasingly cynical observer of human nature and part time social critic in hiding. Most of my life spent avoiding growing up. The naive idealistic passions of youth have evolved into the eclectic eccentricities of adulthood. Northeast Florida small-town native, related to people I can't relate to. Simultaneously my own best friend and worst enemy. Politically and spiritually unaffiliated, my personal ideologies put me all over the map or off it completely.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to you can’t go home again

  1. Anonymous says:

    that’s the way people get in GCS because they see everyone and dont care about getting together to see the few that left…. not sure if I’m right or wrong just a guess. What ever happened?

Leave a Reply

